Active Clubs

During the 24 years history of CPBL, the league once expanded from four to six (Chinatimes Eagles and Jungo Bears joined the league in 1993). In 1997 the league expanded to seven with the Chinatrust Whales, but the Eagles withdrew from the league at the end of the same season. In 1999, the Tigers and the Dragons decided to fold, and the league has returned to the four-club system.
After the merger in 2003, the league expanded to six with the addition of Macoto Bank and First Financial Holdings organizations. La new later acquired the club from First Financial Holdings in 2004, and D-media purchased the club from Macoto in 2008. With the expel of D-media and the withdraw of the Chinatrust, CPBL started its 2009 season with four teams again. The La new Bears was later renamed as the Lamigo Monkeys and the Sinon Bulls (Former Jungo Bears) was sold to E-Da group, forming the EDA Rhinos. In 2013, Brother Elephants was sold to Chinatrust.

EDA Rhinos
Following the conclusion of 2012 season, Sinon organization announced its intention to sell the club. On December 17th, E-United Group officially purchased the club from Sinon, and renamed its club to EDA Rhinos and moved its franchise to Kaohsiung where the company makes its home. The most notable move for the new club is to acquire the service of former Major League player Manny Ramirez, making Ramirez the most notable foreign player ever to play in CPBL. The Rhinos won the 1st half champions of the 2013 season, winning the ticket for the Asia Series 2013 held in Taichung, Taiwan.
Total W/L Record (until 2013, 1 season): 62W-57L-1T
Total Winning Percentage: PCT: 0.521
Lamigo Monkeys
Formally known as the Agan, the club was purchased by the La New Group in 2004 and renamed the club to "La New Bears" as the newest member of the CPBL. The franchise also purchased the operational rights of the Cheng-Ching Lake Stadium as its home field. The team quickly became the favorite of fans in southern Taiwan with the efforts of its management. La new signed former Major Leaguer Chen, Chin-Feng to the first multi-year guaranteed contract in 2006 and making Chen the highest paid professional baseball player in history. La new also won the Taiwan Series and became the first club to represent CPBL to enter the Asia Series final by defeating the Korean champion Samsung Lions in 2006. After 6 years of operation in southern Taiwan, the ownership moved the franchise from Kaohsiung to Taoyuan and changed their name to “Lamigo Monkeys” to start the 2011 season. Lamigo won the 2012 Taiwan Series and the 2nd place of the Asia Series 2013 held in Busan, Korea.
Total W/L Record (until 2012, 9 seasons): 569W-506L-25T
Total Winning Percentage: PCT: 0.529
Championships: 2
Uni-President 7-Eleven Lions
The Lions are one of the four founding members of the League. Based in Tainan, it is widely recognized as one of the most successful models of professional baseball operations. The organization adopted Tainan Municipal Stadium and turned it into one of the most advanced stadiums in Taiwan. The Lions currently hold the record of most championships by winning in 1991, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2007, 2008, 2009 and 2011, 2013. The Lions are also the only CPBL club that made four appearances in the Asia Series in 2007, 2008, 2011 and 2013. In 2013, the Lions won the Taiwan Series and finished 2nd in the Asia Series 2013, continuing its dominance as the most successful team in CPBL.
Total W/L Record (until 2013, 24 seasons): 1288W-1039L-87T
Total Winning Percentage: PCT: 0.554
Championships: 9
Chinatrust Brother
The Brother organization is one of the four founding clubs of CPBL. The club, backed up by the Bother Hotel Inc., is recognized as the club with the strongest fan support throughout the country. The club clinched the title three years in a row from 1992 to 1994, and repeated such achievement from 2001 to 2003 again. With fans all over the country, the games involving the Elephants are always box office hits. However, in 2009 the Elephants were hit by most severe game fixing scandal in the history of CPBL. The scandal cost the Elephants almost entire pitching staff and created the most serious uncertainty for professional baseball in Taiwan. The Elephants bounced back in 2010 and grabbed the Taiwan Series title for the 7th time in their club history, sharing the leading record with most champions won with the Lions. On Dec 2013, Brother Elephants was sold to Chinatrust for a recorded high 400 million NT$.

Total W/L Record (until 2012, 23 seasons): 1184W-1152L-77T
Total Winning Percentage: 0.507
Championships: 7